Tackling Dimension

The prompt this week for the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge was home.   I knew immediately I did not want to take the easy way or produce a more expected outcome.   I was not going to have a house on my project.   I was not going to use either of the more common quotes of “home is where the heart is” or “home sweet home.”  This is not to say that these were not worthy of being a kick off point for this challenge.  I have taken up regular participation in challenge projects get me trying things I see and using the products and tools I own in new or different ways.

I quickly decided my kick off point for the challenge would incorporate a nest, a bird’s home.    I was inspired by a stamp I owned from Graphic 45, that had a lovely bird’s nest with eggs.   I loved the stamp but it was one dimensional.   I had been watching folks who were doing dimensional mixed media and wanted to challenge myself to use more dimension.

IMAG3469

I used a canvas hard board I had previously gessoed and painted the sky and the tree. I used matte medium to form the nest and then used the paints to provide interest and highlights.   I stamped the bird in the the nest and then painted the bird.  Once dried I restamped the bird and enhanced the details using markers. Supplies used in the  project are as follows:

Bird’s Nest –

  • Excelsior
  • Liquitex Matte Medium
  • Paint including Dylusions, Distress & Prima Art Alchemy Metalic (Steampunk Copper)

Background

  • Paint: Dylusions (tree, sky & leaves, bird)
  • Faber-Castel Pitt marks larger and small assorted colors (tree bark, leaves & bird)
  • Ranger Distress Crayons
  • Stamps: Lawn Fawn (leaves) & Graphic 45 (bird)
  • Nuvo Mousse – the light leaves for texture and to reflect light
  • Stencil of tree with leaves for the Nuvo Mousse
  • Acrylic inks – blues
  • Sticker phrases from Tim Holtz

Things I learned completing this challenge.

  1.  I need more ephemera and junk.  I  need to frequent local estate sales and build up a stash of this because i don’t want to be buying all this stuff for top dollar to use. There was a lot of stuff I really lusted after to add to this project (Tim Holtz, Graphic 45, Prima/Finnabair  and 7 Gypsies) .
  2.  The process of challenges is good for a person.  It gets them out thinking, creating and it all has a deadline.   This is not only for your art and craft projects but should also apply to your life.
  3. Mixed your products even if it seems that they should not go together.   Cartoonish Law Fawn is not a natural for this project, but the leaves on a set I had was prefect for this project.
  4. You are not required to use your inspiration or kick off idea in your project.

 

I am honored that my design was selected for the designer spotlight.

designer-spotlight-badge

9 comments

    • Thanks Donna. I really tried lots of things I had on hand, had watched too many YouTubes on and it was just time to see what happened. It went better than I could have imagined. I bring it in for Show-n-Tell soon, along with Barbie’s cut up dress project.

  1. This is fabulous Doris! I would love to know how you created the nest because the dimension is wonderful and I would love to try doing that myself. I’m on a mixed media journey myself and it is a lot of fun but so very different to what I am used to, thank you for leaving the lovely comment on my blog and after just seeing this on e project I will now be following and I’m looking forward to seeing more of your projects and your journey Karen x

    • Thanks. I love watching the bluebirds take up resident in the local birdhouses, but nothing is as cool as finding and watching a bird build a nest in a tree and then seeing the family circle grow and complete.

  2. I just found your work listed on the Home Sweet Home challenge. It is a lovely expression of a home. I also like your approach to learning from the online challenges. They have helped me to do many things I wouldn’t ordinarily do.

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Leave a comment.

