Having Fun With Friends

Last Month two of my paper crafting friends and I decided we’d do  a sort of group project.   We each bought the monthly kit from Simon Says Stamp for the month of May.   It was full of fun items that just felt like spring. I think the thing that I loved the most was the plaid paper. The thing I was most uncertain about was the sequins, just never did with much with them before.

may-card-kit

When the kit arrived first I had a love affair with the sold card stock.  It was an amazing weight that I wanted more and more of it for other uses.   I was the also thrilled with the word stickers.  I can imagine so many uses for them.   On the other hand the stamp images all had faces in them.   I found myself cutting out the faces, so the stamps could be used with the faces or without.    I though they were more versatile that way. I already had a Quickie Glue pen, so now I had one for home and one to tuck into my travel bag.

My friends and I talked about how we would do this.   We decided that we’d each work on our own and share when we were done with five cards.

My friend, Woman of Many Talents, was first to finish her cards.   They were fantastic.   I was so sorry I had not got off my butt and done mine first because she has so much talent and it was there in all her cards.   She can be intimidating not because of something she does, but she really a woman of many talents and they were fully present in her cards.

It took me a bit and one card has had three fronts before I finally accepted it as “what I wanted”.     Here are my cards.   I used sequins on five of the cards.    It was my personal challenge to do something unexpected.   IMG_8937 (836x1024)

On this one I took a  long fishtail banner and cut off the fishtail to make a stitched stripe.   The clouds are the stamp minus the faces.   The tie is an upside down kite.  I did end up adding a little Wink of Stella clear to the clouds IMG_8935 (866x1024)

In this one I used the stamp for the rain drops and the umbrella.   The plaid paper cam from the pack.   The clouds are a Hero Arts stencil.   In this one I used a glitter pen to add something to the raindrops. On this one I did use the fishtail banner and intended. IMG_8934 (804x1024)

This is my 4th try on this one.  I messed with this center circle image over and over.  You can see I added Viva Decor Pen dots in the sequins because both my friends kept on saying “But I hate the hole in the sequins”

IMG_8932 (1024x761)

Way too whisical for me, but it is a fun card that I will have fun mailing out.   One of the best parts of the stamp set is that it was simple enough to cut out by hand.   Die sets seemed to have just taken a bump in retail prices, since I am all about saving money so I can have more variety this fits my need. IMG_8931 (1024x683)

Using some of my other die cuts and and stamps along with the fun plaid paper

IMG_8936

This one is likely my favorite.   The word die cut has glossy accents on it.  The diamond background was done using stencils and Distress Spray Stains.   Just bright cheeriness.

IMG_8933 (838x1024)

I love kites and this one was fun to make.   I dyed plain white thread with Distress Ink, the best way I know to get more with less.

We are now waiting for our third friend, She Who Collects, to make hers.   I an hardly wait.

2 comments

  1. Love these all-now I want to keep playing more and more and more! What is the center circle die from?

    • It is from the Lawn Fawn Spring Showers set. It has a sun, three sizes of clouds and rain. There is a matching stamp. I think it was the first time I ever bought both the stamp and the die.
      I am awaiting the Hero Arts monthly kit reveal tomorrow. Their’s is pricey but usually lots of really cool stuff.

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Leave a comment.

