X is for Xylography

I admit I went looking for a X art word for this post, but once I found it I became fascinate by the whole idea of this since I stamp.

Xylography is the art of making engravings on wood especially for printing. I Googled xylography and found some pretty amazing images.  It reminded my of my Great-grandmother Wilna Keeler Virtue who attend college and her minor was pyrography.   I had no idea what that was before I learned about her time in college. Pyrography is the art of decorating wood or leather by burning designs into its surface with the tip of a heated tool.

I wonder how many other …graphy arts there are out there that we haven’t heard of.

One comment

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Leave a comment.

