R is for Redo

We don’t get many redo’s in life, but in the creative world we do sort of.   Not that we really get to redo the actual moment or project, but for some reason in the creative world we get opportunities to try again.   Maybe we get more of those then we recognize in life, but for some reason I see them more often in the creative world.

Yesterday I was working on an art journal page and it did not end up anything like I planned.   The more I tried to salvage it the worse it became.   Finally I said stop….enough.    What did I learn?   The list goes on and on when I think about what went wrong and what did a I learn.   I was in a hurry.    I did not think about the paper’s intent, writing, not paint or ink.   I did no prep.   I wasn’t willing to wait for things to dry.  I was flying by the seat of my pants using a new medium.   I was trying to apply rules that work for other mediums to something that had almost nothing in common with the medium I was using. I refused to take no for an answer. I was searching for an outcome that I wasn’t sure what it was.  I kept adding things long after I knew I should stop doing so.

Today I plan to look at my project from yesterday and prep a few pages.   No more than that.    Think about what would have given me a chance to end up with something I wanted or would give me a base to work from.   I will use that time applying matt medium to paste pages together and gesso to prep surfaces to think about what went wrong.   I am going to take a redo.

2 comments

  1. Been there, done that. On a really bad day I always try and stop and reflect that a bad day only lasts 24 hours – then you get another shot at it.

    Yesterday I pulled apart a project and salvaged what mixed media elements I could (metal embellishments.) It actually felt good to start again.

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Leave a comment.

