N is for Night Owl

First let me make this very clear I am NOT a night owl.   I like and need some sleep.    That said there are thousands of creative souls whose best time is after the sun goes down and the the world goes to sleep. It is hard for me to imagine in so many ways because the light is what feeds my soul.   Yet there is a piece of me that that gets the whole night owl thing because I wake up with ideas in the middle of the night, and until I write them down my body will not let me go back to sleep. My unconscious brain will not let me loose that good thought that was running through my sleeping brain, that was so darn good I had to be woke up to save it.  I also can imagine that the night cocoons  you and helps you with your focus. There are days when the the view out my studio windows call me and sometimes I am gone no matter what I am working on.  Maybe I should try a little nigh time work the next time I wake up in the middle of the night with a good idea.

nightowl

Thanks to everyone who has been following my #AtoZChallenge so far.   I am now over halfway done.    It has been good but much harder than I thought it would be.   I hope you hang around for the rest.

3 comments

  1. I’m not naturally a night owl, but I am naturally insomniac at times and that is very annoying. Though I must say, I have had the moments when I’ve had to dash out of bed and just make/write/scribble something down or my brain won’t let me sleep, so I am so with you on that one.

    I sometimes end up using the not-able-to-sleep time as productive time and either paint or write or do something to distract the brain.

    Nice to meet you here via the A to Z challenge 😀

    Best wishes,
    Liz

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Leave a comment.

